Tuesday, March 15, 2016

National Assembly: CPDM Dictates Supremacy, 76 Years Old Cavaye Reelected Speaker

As tradition, the Members of Parliament took advantage of the first regular session of 2016, to renew its bureau. The election exercise which took place on Tuesday, March 15, 2016 at about 3pm witnessed the reelection of all the former bureau members. The CPDM party with majority of MPs in Parliament dictated the pace. Etong Hilarion, Professor Hon. Cavaye Yeguie Djibril, a native of the Far North region, was reelected Speaker while Hon. Etong Hilarion was also elected Senior Vice President. It was be recalled that Hon. Cavaye Yeguie has been Speaker since 1992. The man who has been speaker since 1992 scored 151 out of 166 who voted for the new bureau of the National Assembly.Born in Mada, located in the Tokombéré sub division of Mayo-Sava Division in the Far North Region.Aged 76 years, the Right Honourable Cavaye Yeguie Djibril after his reelection said that he believes that he owes his longevity to Paul Biya, Head of State and National President of the CPDM. "I reaffirms my loyalty to Paul Biya, today, tomorrow like yesterday," he said. Also reelected into the Bureau were Hon. Awudu Mbaya and Hon. Njingum Musa who were reelected as Quaestor No 2 and 3 respectively. 

When News Breaks Out, We Break In. (The 2014 Bloggies Finalist)

No comments: