Friday, January 6, 2017

CAF Awards: Riyadh Mahrez is Best African Player of the Year

Midfielder Riyad Mahrez is the best African football player of the year 2016. His election by some football technicians and some well-informed observers was declared yesterday at a Gala night in Abuja, Nigeria. The Algerian international got 361 votes against 313 for Pierre-Emerick Abameyang. Senegalese Sadjo Mané completed the podium with 186 votes. Riyad Mahrez enters history as the second Algerian player to win the prestigious African Best Player of the Year, after the exploits of Rabah Madjer 30 years ago.
"Qualified" magician "by his teammates, he is famous for pure techniques and devastating dribbling. In 2016, his coach Claudio Ranieri said that "Mahrez is the light and when it is lit, the stadium responds beautifully". After losing the titles of "Player of the Year" and "National Women's Team of the Year", the Cameroonian delegation returns to the fold with the Legend Award trophy awarded to Émilienne Mbango, a major figure in the history of women's football in Cameroon. This Trophy of Legend Award is a special award that CAF attributes to people who have particularly marked the history of football on the black continent.

African player of the year
    Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) - 361 points
    Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) - 313 points
    Sadio MANE (Senegal/ Liverpool) - 186 points

When News Breaks Out, We Break In. (The 2014 Bloggies Finalist)

No comments: